HypoWave

Use of hydroponic systems for resource efficient water reuse in agriculture

Background:

The project HypoWave is the first study of a hydroponic system for plant production that is operated with specially treated municipal wastewater. In this system, the plants grow in a nutrient solution without substrate. For this purpose, the municipal wastewater is treated by means of various technical process steps tailor-made for the intended purpose.

Aim:

The aim is to develop a hydroponic system in which plants make optimum use of nutrients while at the same time ensuring high product quality with regard to pollutants such as heavy metals, organic trace substances or pathogens. This system also allows a significant increase in water resource efficiency through the reuse of wastewater and its circulation/recycling.

Focus of the work:

The system will be tested in a pilot project at the wastewater treatment plant of Hattorf. Here, the water management and agricultural issues are coordinated. In addition, an analysis of the stakeholder-related, institutional and legal framework conditions will be used to develop the forms of governance necessary for such a concept.

In addition, feasibility studies are carried out in selected European case studies in the Wolfsburg region, the Hessian Ried (both in Germany), the border triangle D-BE-NL and in Évora, Portugal. Together with an impact assessment, these studies should contribute to initiating the market preparation of the hydroponic systems. Depending on the location, there are of course different requirements for a successful implementation. And so, these requirements   for different locations, applications and market segments will be identified accordingly.

At the same time, the research work and its results will be discussed and further developed in a stakeholder dialogue with experts from various areas. Together with the feasibility studies, this dialogue will initiate the implementation of the results. Additionally, subject-specific recommendations for the adaptation of the legal framework will be developed, as well as interactive handouts for practitioners regarding the potential assessment and decision support. On the part of the companies, adapted products will be developed for the application in the field of wastewater reuse in general and hydroponic systems in particular.

Project homepage


© BMBF 07/16/2018 17:09 - All rights reserved.

HypoWave

Einsatz hydroponischer Systeme zur ressourceneffizienten landwirtschaftlichen Wasserwiederverwendung

Kurzbeschreibung:

In HypoWave wird erstmals ein hydroponisches System zur Pflanzenproduktion untersucht, das mit speziell aufbereitetem kommunalem Abwasser betrieben wird. Die Pflanzen wachsen hier ohne Substrat in einer Nährlösung. Das kommunale Abwasser wird dafür über verschiedene, dem Zweck angepasste technische Verfahrensschritte aufbereitet.

Ziel:

Ziel ist es, ein hydroponisches System zu entwickeln, bei dem eine optimale Nährstoffverwertung durch die Pflanzen bei gleichzeitiger Gewährleistung einer hohen Produktqualität bzgl. Schadstoffe wie Schwermetallen, organischen Spurenstoffen oder pathogenen Keimen erfolgt. Zugleich erlaubt dieses System durch die Wiederverwendung von Abwasser und dessen Kreislaufführung eine signifikante Steigerung der Wasserressourceneffizienz.

Arbeitsschwerpunkte:

Dieses System wird in einer Pilotierung auf der Kläranlage Hattorf erprobt. Hier werden die siedlungswasserwirtschaftlichen und landwirtschaftlichen Belange aufeinander abgestimmt. Zudem werden aus einer Analyse der akteursbezogenen, institutionellen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen hervorgehend die für ein solches Konzept nötigen Governance-Formen, erarbeitet.

Zusätzlich werden in ausgewählten europäischen Fallstudien in der Region Wolfsburg, dem Hessischen Ried, dem Dreiländereck D-BE-NL und in Évora, Portugal, Machbarkeitsstudien durchgeführt. Diese sollen zusammen mit einer Wirkungsabschätzung dazu beitragen, die Marktbereitung dieser hydroponischen Systeme zu initiieren. Abhängig vom Standort gibt es unterschiedliche Anforderungen für eine erfolgreiche Implementierung. Diese Anforderungen werden für verschiedener Standorte, Einsatzmöglichkeiten und Marktsegmente identifiziert.

Parallel werden die Arbeiten und Ergebnisse mit Fachleuten aus den unterschiedlichen Bereichen in einem Stakeholderdialog diskutiert und weiterentwickelt. Dieser Dialog leitet gemeinsam mit den Machbarkeitsstudien die Ergebnisverwertung ein. Darüber hinaus werden fachspezifische Empfehlungen zur Anpassung des gesetzlichen Rahmens erarbeitet, sowie interaktive Handreichungen für die Praxis zur Potenzialabschätzung und Entscheidungsunterstützung entwickelt. Auf Unternehmensseite werden angepasste Produkte für den Einsatz im Bereich der Wiederverwendung von Abwasser im Allgemeinen und insbesondere in hydroponischen Systemen entstehen.

Zur Homepage des Verbundprojektes


© BMBF 06/30/2017 09:45 - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.