WEISS

Efficient cooling water recycling by integrated desalting for the case study steel industry

Background:

The aim of the project is to halve the blow down water amount of cooling circuits using the example of the steel industry and thus save up to 800,000 m³/a of water for an average steel location. This is to be achieved by reducing salt input through the needs-oriented dosing of cooling water chemicals on the one hand and by developing suitable processes for separating salt from the feed water, circulation water and desalination effluent water on the other. Due to the complex cooling water matrix and structure of the cooling circuits, this objective can only be achieved by the accompanying development of a simulation tool for the entire circulation water system.

Aim:

By improving the efficiency of water cycles, the following objectives are achieved:

  • Improvement of the economic efficiency of cooled processes
  • Protection of natural water sources
  • Reduced dependence of steel production on water availability

Focus of the work:

The main focus of the project is:

  • Development of a concept for appropriate chemical dosage based on new measuring methods for biological activity and solid concentration in cooling water.
  • Desalination of cooling water: Production of prototypes and demonstration tests under operational conditions as a combination process:
    • Capacitive deionization
    • Reverse osmosis with newly developed membranes with anti-fouling coating,
    • High pressure reverse osmosis and evaporation with structured polymer heat exchangers to minimise the amount of concentrates from the capacitive deionisation or reverse osmosis on the way to a zero-liquid discharge solution.
  • Pre-treatment of the water  adapted to the above mentioned desalination processes in order to achieve high operational safety
  • Exemplary illustration of the cooling circuits of a steel processor by means of simulation, development of the simulation modules for the new processes and calculation of the most economical and sustainable process combinations and operating modes.
  • Summary of the results in an economically evaluated plant concept in the steel sector consisting of pretreatment, 1st and 2nd desalination stage for new cooling circuits to be built or as a supplementary plant for water recycling, taking into account the needs-oriented dosing of cooling water chemicals.
  • Transfer to cooling water circuits in other industries
  • In Europe and in countries without a shortage of water, a market potential for the system for need-based chemical dosing is seen. Worldwide, especially in areas with water shortage, a high market potential for the developed process combination for salt removal and highly efficient water circulation is seen.

Project homepage


© BMBF 08/17/2018 08:42 - All rights reserved.

WEISS

Effiziente Kreislaufführung von Kühlwasser durch integrierte Entsalzung am Beispiel der Stahlindustrie

Kurzbeschreibung:

Ziel des Projektes ist die Halbierung des Frischwasserverbrauchs für Kühlkreisläufe am Beispiel der Stahlindustrie und damit eine Wassereinsparung von bis zu 800.000 m³/a für einen durchschnittlichen Stahlstandort. Dies soll über einen verminderten Salzeintrag durch bedarfsgerechte Dosierung von Kühlwasserchemikalien einerseits und durch die Verfahrensentwicklung geeigneter Verfahren zur Salzabtrennung aus Zulauf-, Kreislauf- und Absalzwasser andererseits erreicht werden. Aufgrund der komplexen Kühlwassermatrix und Struktur der Kühlkreisläufe ist dieses Ziel nur durch begleitende Entwicklung eines Simulationstools für das gesamte Kreislaufwassersystem möglich.

Ziele:

Mit der Verbesserung der Effizienz der Wasserkreisläufe werden folgende Ziele erreicht:

  • Verbesserung der Wirtschaftlichkeit von gekühlten Prozessen
  • Schutz der natürlichen Wasserquellen vor Verunreinigung durch Zusätze und Salze
  • Geringere Abhängigkeit der Stahlproduktion von der Wasserverfügbarkeit

Arbeitsschwerpunkte:

Arbeitsschwerpunkte des Projektes sind:

  • Entwicklung eines Konzepts zur bedarfsgerechten Chemikaliendosierung auf Basis neuer Messverfahren für biologische Aktivität und Feststoffkonzentration in Kühlwässern
  • Entsalzung von Kühlwässern: Herstellung von Prototypen und Demonstrationsversuche unter betrieblichen Bedingungen als Kombinationsverfahren aus:
    • kapazitiver Deionisation
    • Umkehrosmose mit, im Projekt neu entwickelten Membranen mit Anti-Fouling-Beschichtung,
    • Hochleistungsumkehrosmose und Evaporation mit strukturierten Polymerwärmetauschern zur Konzentratminimierung auf dem Weg zu einer Zero-Liquid-Discharge-Lösung
  • Auf die vorstehenden Entsalzungsverfahren angepasste Vorbehandlung des Absalzwassers zur Erzielung einer hohen Betriebssicherheit
  • Exemplarische Abbildung der Kühlkreisläufe eines Stahlverarbeiters mittels Simulation, Entwicklung der Simulationsmodule der neuen Verfahren und Berechnung der wirtschaftlichsten und nachhaltigsten Prozesskombinationen und Betriebsweisen
  • Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse in ein unter wirtschaftlichen Gesichtspunkten bewertetes Anlagenkonzept im Stahlbereich bestehend aus Vorbehandlung, 1. und 2. Entsalzungsstufe für neu zu errichtende Kühlkreisläufe oder als Ergänzungsanlage zum Wasserrecycling unter Berücksichtigung einer bedarfsgerechten Dosierung von Kühlwasserchemikalien
  • Transfer auf Kühlwasserkreisläufe anderer Branchen

In Europa bzw. in Ländern ohne Wassermangel wird ein Marktpotential für das System zur bedarfsgerechten Chemikaliendosierung gesehen. Weltweit, insbesondere in Gebieten mit Wassermangel, wird ein hohes Marktpotential für die entwickelte Verfahrenskombination zur Salzentfernung und hocheffizienten Wasserkreislaufführung gesehen.


© BMBF 06/30/2017 09:45 - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.